The World Can't Wait

The views of a highly-ambitious girl stuck in the middle of California

Quarter-Life Crisis? March 9, 2010

Filed under: Self-Reflection — princess7strawberry @ 10:47 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

March. It’s the month of Spring (21st)- yay for Spring!, Women’s Day (8th)- shout out to all my ladies!, and St. Patrick’s Day (17th). It’s also a quarter into the year. So let’s have a check up: Have you kept up with your New Year’s Resolution? … That’s okay. I haven’t reached my goals yet, either.

I am really happy in my life. I’ve got great friends and family. But I can’t help and get flashes of what I have been doing with my life- good and bad- in past years, sometimes wishing I could relive the moment and/or what my life would have been if I played it out differently. I wonder if this is what they call a quarter-life crisis or identity crisis. Here’s a secret about me: one of my biggest fears is growing up. It’s not really the act of growing up. It’s just the responsibilities that I know that I should be doing, and I’m just not at that stage in my life.

I’ve known for a fact that ever since I was born, I always take my time with things (Hence, why I’m still working on school, with several more years to go). But sometimes I get a little frustrated, thinking, “Why couldn’t I just have gotten my act together and gotten this done sooner? I really need to stop goofing and slacking off and get moving with my life!” (I say that, then I look back on that moment, I recall that I sat around my bedroom doing nothing after making that realization. How’s that for contradiction?)

Anyway, instead of constantly bouncing from past to present to future in a negative way (which I’m sure this affecting my self-esteem), I suppose this would be the time to look at the way Ferris Bueller put it: “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop to look around once in a while, you could miss it.” And that’s sound advice. So is Rob Thomas’ “Little Wonders”: “Our lives our made in these small hours”.

Just live in the moment!

 

Leave a Reply

